Commodity market

Commodities markets are the main markets of interest for big companies when treating commodities as raw materials such as oil and gold


Rule of thumb



In reality, most individual investors are not interested in the underlying asset traded with futures, but in the potential profits available from these contracts

This is why more and more transactions are handled as “Over-The-Counter” or OTC with such brokers as us, using the financial instruments Contract for Differences (CFDs)

Trading using CFDs and other derivative instruments typically allows one to participate in the market movement of a given commodity, without the necessity to deal with the physical goods with all their consequences

Commodities are extremely important not only to the general economy, but also to companies and individuals. Commodities are essential as raw materials in order to produce goods. If commodities

or these raw materials are not available or expensive, the final products will also be significantly expensive for the consumer. The range of commodities available is very wide, from wheat, cattle to oil or gold.

The trading on some commodities concentrates mainly in the countries where they are produced. An example may be orange juice, which is a commodity that has been traded in the United States for decades, while other countries simply import and consume this commodity.

Commodities are traded on exchanges, the most popular being the Chicago Mercantile Exchange (CME) and New York Mercantile Exchange (NYMEX). In these exchanges, commodities are traded via futures contracts, which obligate both sides to finalise a transaction on a previously specified date, price and other conditions.


Prices presented in media services or news services are usually the contract futures prices traded on exchanges, which in turn are based on the supply and demand of the commodity.

The historical reason to use futures contracts is very prosaic and results from the obvious reasons that commodities may not be delivered “instantly” as other financial instruments. Therefore, in order that both sides secure the value of the transaction from the volatility that may occur until the delivery, future contracts are used.

There are many factors that could be taken into consideration by an astute trader following the fundamental outlook of the commodity markets. Everyday in the media some information can be found that may significantly impact the demand or supply side of the given commodity, affecting the price in the short or possibly even long term. Which events or circumstances may be of importance for the analysis of the commodity market?

Here is our checklist of the key factors, along with the guidelines for their interpretation:

  • natural resources
  • extraction possibilities/technology
  • evolution
  • legal acts
  • weather conditions
  • political conditions
  • economic recession
  • economic growth
  • confidence
  • events
  • experts opinions

THE KEY FACTORS OF THE COMMODITY MARKET

Political situation

This is a factor that is having an increasing impact on the prices of commodities. Not only because more traders are present in the commodities markets, but also more countries are now affected by political decisions than decades ago. One of the most popular examples of how a political situation affects prices is war. The war between Iraq and the United States, that began in March 2003, resulted in a rise in oil prices on a constant basis. This is because of different reasons. One may be the fact that countries involved have an increased need for oil in order to mobilise military units. Probably the most important reason in this case though, is the fact that Iraq and other countries surrounding are very significant oil producers. Traders around the world do not know what the real political determinations of countries engaged in the war are, so they assume temporarily that the oil supply will be limited, increasing in turn the price of oil. This commodity is especially significant to US consumers as imported oil accounts for 60% of US consumption.

Economic recession

Economic recession may be related to a lower demand for goods, which in turn reduces production. This may be understood as a surplus of supply in relation to demand at the previous price level, which results in a price decrease of commodities. On the other hand, there are commodities that are positively correlated with the recession level. That is, the bigger the recession, the more prices will soar. Perfect examples of this situation is Gold or other precious metals. During moments of economic recession, investors tend to withdraw money from capital markets investing in precious metals, which are considered to be relatively safe investments in such circumstances. On the other hand, in moments of high economic activity and optimism in relation to its future growth, prices of precious metals tend to be lower.

One time events

There are also situations which have a temporary effect on commodity prices. One may think of the Olympic games that occurs every 4 years, and even more rarely in the same country. This type of event requires big investments which also attracts foreign capital, but also more raw material are necessary in that country. This situation may be considered as a temporary increased demand for certain items in that country. Also during the time of the events, there is an increased demand for other commodities, like cattle because of the increased number of visitors to that country. Strikes may also be good examples of how events have significant effects on commodity prices. A strike in a gold mine in Peru (2010) causes the prices of gold to spike. Of course, strikes may not happen very often, but this makes their influence even greater.

Confidence

This element is becoming a more important agent which has an influence on the prices of every financial instrument, independently if it is a commodity, currency or bonds. Usually confidence levels “move” similarly to economic cycles - some studies even find that confidence levels precede the actual economic cycles. Sometimes, even if economic growth is observable, confidence is not necessarily as high as one would expect. Confidence may be affected by internal political decisions that do not necessarily have an influence on the economy, but raises questions for investors.

Weather conditions

The weather may have very important consequences on the prices of commodities. Harsh weather may result in a small production of commodities like wheat or barley, which typically leads to a price increase of these commodities. Examples of weather conditions that occur cyclically, which have an impact on prices, is the summer’s hurricane period in the Mexican Bay, south of the United States, when hurricanes may hurt the production of agriculture related commodities such as wheat or even cattle.

Experts opinions

For other markets, like the foreign exchange market, the opinions of people closely related to monetary policy are considered to be interventions. On the commodities markets, there may not be interventions, but investors also follow the opinions of other experts. An example could be opinions expressed during/after the OPEC (Organisation of the Petroleum Exporting Countries) meetings, or the Davos summits (World Economic Forum).

Natural resources

Many commodities are by nature limited to some geographic locations. For example gold or oil may not be available in every country, which makes these commodities more price sensible than others, especially in relation to the situation in given regions.

Extraction possibilities/technology

Depending on the given commodity, different technologies may apply. News relating to development of the technology of production may have quite a significant effect on prices of commodities. The introduction of new technology may require very high initial capital, but in the long term makes prices lower increasing the margin for companies.

Economic growth

Although, prices of precious metals tend to be lower during economic growth, the prices of other commodities may rise. Such commodities as wheat, or others, have an increased demand during economic growth, which generates inflationary pressure.

Legal acts

Again this factor may be somewhat related to the evolution factor. Environmental legal pacts binding countries to limit the emission of CO2 in the world, have been one of the most important reasons to create contracts on CO2 emissions, which in turn can be bought and sold on the international market.

Evolution and global climate changes

This is an interesting long term factor that may not have a direct effect on current commodity prices, but gives the opportunity to create new commodities like contracts on CO2 emissions.

Сырьевой рынок

Сырьевые рынки представляют основной интерес для крупных компаний во время обработки сырьевых товаров, таких как нефть и золото


Практический метод



В действительности, большинство индивидуальных инвесторов не интересует такой базовый актив, как фьючерсы. Интерес больше лежит к потенциальной прибыли, полученной путем транзакции данных инструментов.

Вот почему все больше и больше сделок обрабатываются как "Over-The-Counter" или ОТС с таким брокером, как мы, используя контракты на разницу (CFD)

Торговля с использованием контактов на разницу (CFD) и других производных финансовых инструментов, как правило, позволяет участвовать в движении рынка данного товара без необходимости физическеского контакта с ним и всеми вытекающими отсюда последствиями

Товары чрезвычайно важны не только для экономики в целом, но и для компаний и частных лиц. Сырьевые товары имеют такое же важное значение, как сырье для производства товара. Если эти товары или сырье не доступно или дорого, конечная продукция будет значительно дороже для потребителя.

Торговля некоторыми товарами сосредоточена в основном в странах, где они производятся. Например в США интенсивно проводятся сделки по продаже апельсинового сока, США является основным производителем на данном рынке, остальные страны только импортируют и потребляют апельсиновый сок.


Сырьевые товары торгуются на биржах, наиболее популярными из них являются Чикагская товарная биржа (CME) и Нью-Йоркская товарная биржа (NYMEX). На этих биржах товары торгуются контрактами на разницу, которые обязывают обе стороны закрыть сделку по ранее указанной дате, цене и другим условиям.

Цены, представленные в средствах массовой информации или в информационных службах, как правило, являются ценами контрактов на разницу на бирже, которые в свою очередь формируются на основе спроса и предложения товара.

Историческая причина использования контрактов на разницу весьма скучна и является очевидной причиной, по которой товары не могут быть доставлены "мгновенно", как и другие финансовые инструменты. Поэтому, в зависимости от волатильности товара, обе стороны устанавливают стоимость сделки, которая не осуществится до тех пор, пока используются будущие контракты.

Каждый день, некоторая информация в СМИ может существенно повлиять на спрос или предложение данного товара, влияя на цену в краткосрочной или даже долгосрочной перспективе. Какие события или обстоятельства могут влиять на анализ Сырьевого рынка? Вот наш контрольный перечень ключевых факторов вместе с руководящими указаниями по их интерпретации:

  • Природные ресурсы
  • Возможности - технологии/добычи
  • Климатические изменения
  • Законодательный акт
  • Метеоусловия
  • Политическая ситуация
  • Экономический спад
  • Экономический рост
  • Уровень доверия
  • События
  • Мнения экспертов

КЛЮЧЕВЫЕ ФАКТОРЫ СЫРЬЕВОГО РЫНКА

Политическая ситуация

Это фактор, который оказывает все большее влияние на цены на сырьевые товары. Не только потому, что больше трейдеров торгуют на рынках сырьевых товаров, но и по причине того, что на сегодняшний день всё больше стран зависят от политических решений, чем несколько десятилетий назад. Одним из самых популярных примеров того, как политическая ситуация влияет на цены - это война. Война между Ираком и США, которая началась в марте 2003 года, повлекла за собой нескончаемый рост цен на нефть. Это происходит по разным причам. Одной из них может быть тот факт, что страны, которые участвуют в войне имеют большую потребность в нефти в целях мобилизации воинских частей. Вероятно, наиболее важной причиной в данном случае является то, что Ирак и другие соседние страны являются очень крупными производителями нефти. Трейдеры по всему миру не знают реальные политические решения стран, вовлеченных в войну, поэтому они временно предположили, что поставки нефти будут ограничены, в свою очередь увеличивая цены на нефть. Этот товар является особенно важным для американских потребителей, как потребителей нефти, которые импортируют 60% от всего потребления в США.

Разовые события

Существуют ситуации, которые имеют временное влияние на цены сырьевых товаров. Например, Олимпийские игры, которые проходят каждые 4 года и еще реже в одной и той же стране. Такого рода мероприятие требует больших инвестиций, что привлекает иностранный капитал, но также такая страна должна обладать своими ресурсами. Такая ситуация может рассматриваться как временное повышение спроса на определенные товары в этой стране. Также во время событий, существует повышенный спрос на другие сырьевые товары, такие как крупный рогатый скот, из-за увеличения числа туристов в этой стране. Забастовки также могут быть хорошим примером того, как события оказывают существенное влияние на цены на сырьевые товары. Забастовка в золотой шахте в Перу (2010) привела к падению цен на золото.

Погодные условия

Погода может сильно влиять на цены на сырьевые товары. Суровая погода может привести к спаду производства таких товаров, как пшеница или ячмень, который, как правило, приводит к росту цен на эти товары. В качестве примера погодных условий, которые происходят циклически, оказывая влияние на цены, можно привести ураганы в летний период в Мексиканском заливе к югу от Соединенных Штатов, которые могут навредить сельского хозяйственному производству таких товаров, как пшеница или даже крупный рогатый скот.

Природные ресурсы

В некоторых географических регионах, многие товары по своей природе находятся в ограниченном количестве. Например, золото или нефть не могут быть доступны в каждой стране, что делает эти товары более чувствительными к цене, чем другие, особенно в связи с ситуациями в данных регионах.

Экономический рост

Хотя цены на драгоценные металлы имеют тенденцию к снижению в период экономического роста, цены на другие сырьевые товары могут увеличиваться. Такие товары, как пшеница или другие, имеют повышенный спрос в период экономического роста, что создает инфляционное давление.

Эволюция и глобальные климатические изменения

Это является интересным долгосрочным фактором, который не имеет прямого влияния на текущие цены на сырьевые товары, но дает возможность создавать новые товары, как контракты на выброс CO2.

Экономический спад

Экономический спад может быть связан с снижением спроса на товары, что в свою очередь сокращает производство. Это можно понять как избыток предложения по отношению к спросу на прежний уровень цен, что приводит к снижению цен на сырьевые товары. С другой стороны, есть товары, которые имеют положительную корреляцию на фоне экономического спада. То есть, чем больше спад, тем сильнее цены будут расти. Прекрасным примером для ситуации могут послужить золото или другие драгоценные металлы. В моменты экономического спада, инвесторы склонны выводить деньги с финаносвых рынков, инвестируя в драгоценные металлы, которые считаются безопасной инвестицией. С другой стороны, в моменты высокой экономической активности и оптимизма в отношении его будущего роста, цены на драгоценные металлы имеют тенденцию к снижению.

Индекс доверия

Данный элемент становится более важным средством, который влияет на цены любого финансового инструмента независимо сырье это, валюта или облигации. Как правило, индекс доверия “движется” как и экономический цикл, но некоторые исследования пологают, что индекс доверия предшествует экономическому циклу. Иногда, даже когда наблюдается экономический рост, индекс доверия не всегда будет на высоте, как многие ожидают. Индекс доверия может повлиять на внутренние политические решения, которые не обязательно оказывают влияние на экономику, но вызывает вопросы у инвесторов.

Мнения экспертов

На других рынках, таких как валютный рынок, мнения людей, тесно связаных с денежно-кредитной политикой, считаются вмешательством. На товарно-сырьевых рынках не может быть вмешательства, но инвесторы прислушиваются мнению других экспертов. Примером могут послужить высказывания во время/после выступления стран ОПЕК (Организация стран экспортирующих нефть), совещания или саммит в Давосе (Всемирный экономический форум).

Возможности добычи / используемая технология

В зависимости от сырьевого товара, могут применяться различные технологии. Новости, связанные с развитием технологии производства, могут иметь весьма существенное влияние на цены на сырьевые товары. Внедрение новой технологии может потребовать очень высокий начальный капитал, но в долгосрочной перспективе делает цены более низкими, увеличивая маржу для компаний.

Законодательное урегулирование

Опять же, этот фактор может быть связанн с эволюционным фактором. Экологические правовые пакты, обязывающие страны сократить выбросы СО2 в мире, были одним из самых важных причин для создания контрактов о выбросах СО2, которые в свою очередь могут быть куплены и проданы на международном рынке.