Risk management

Even the basic knowledge of risk management methods may significantly contribute to the efficiency of your trading


Ideas to consider


Develop a strategy that you are comfortable with, and don’t make any exceptions
Consider using “Stop-Loss” orders in order to control the potential losses
You can also study how to use other orders as an additional tool, always keeping in mind the maximum risk you can take and your investment objectives
Every investment is subject to risk due to potential unfavourable price changes. As the financial markets constitute a complex system with many factors influencing the demand and supply at the same time, it is important to know that the result of practically any given transaction is uncertain. The factors influencing the market prices are covered in the fundamental analysis section of our website.

Risk management depends very much on the types of assets the trader is interested in. In this text we would like to discuss the tools that can be used in order to minimise potential losses resulting from adverse price changes:

  • study the different types of assets
  • plan your strategy
  • establish the maximum acceptable risk
  • use the different order types available on the MeaTrader5 platform

Study the different types of assets


It is crucial to first understand the liquidity involved with the different currency pairs

Depending on the type of asset you are interested in, there may be more or less volatility related. The higher the volatility, the higher the financial risk associated with the given market. This means that operating on a such market involves potentially higher profits and losses than in the case of markets with lower volatility. There are markets where there is not much movement, while others change very often and the price changes may be quite significant.

Another important issue is the spread - i.e. the difference between the ask price and bid price. Different assets have different spreads, as the spread size depends on such factors as liquidity of the market, its volatility or time of the day. As the spread represents an indirect cost of the transaction for a trader, it can be related to the volatility in order to compare the cost of transaction between the given markets. For example, the cost of operating on a market where the spread is 4 points and the difference between daily maximum and minimum is equal to 60 points, can be considered to be more attractive than in the case of a market where the spread is 2 points, but the daily price range is just 20 points.


 

Plan your strategy risk management, strategy


It is imperative to decide what type of investment strategy is to be implemented

The strategy shall define the key aspects of the trades, including their time horizon. There are assets where it is difficult to trade in the short term, as the cost of transaction is relatively high in relation to the size of typical price movements. However, it is still possible to consider such markets for the purposes of investment in the longer term, cost carry transactions or possible arbitrage. On the other hand, assets that change very often could provide a good possibility for transactions in the short and ultra short term.

Establish the maximum acceptable risk for an investment or trade


Important step that many investors seem to ignore

It may be a good idea to establish a maximum amount of money that he/she is willing to risk in any given transaction. Such an amount can be defined as a percentage of the available capital. Considering an example where the trader is willing to risk no more than 3% of the portfolio, 3% of that amount would mean that the investor is willing to “risk” no more than $300 USD in a trade.

The limit calculated as shown above, or using any other method, can be taken into account when considering where to set the stop loss or close the transaction by any other means. In order to do that, one should also consider a value of pips. Assuming that for a specific asset the pips value is equal to $10 USD, and the acceptable risk is $300 USD, then a trader may consider placing a stop-loss with a value of 300/10 = 30 pips from the level where the transaction was opened.

Use the different orders available on the
MetaTrader 5 platform

Understanding the possibilities behind the pending orders of the trading platform may contribute to more efficient trading plan

There are many different orders available at the MT5, which can potentially help to realise profits or limit the losses during the investment process:

  • Market orders - buy/sell
  • Stop loss
  • Take profit

Market orders (or instant execution orders)

These are simply orders (buy or sell) that are executed instantly at the time they are placed.

Take-profit

Take profit is an additional order available for both pending orders and market orders. They can also be attached to already opened positions on a given market. The difference between this order and the stop-loss order is that in the take-profit order, a trader will fix the exact profit he wants to realise. Sometimes, investors are not actually sure how much a price will continue its direction, so they fix a value for which a profit is guaranteed if the price reaches that level. For long positions, the take-profit level must be above the current price. For short positions, the take-profit level must be lower than the current price.

Stop-loss

Stop-loss orders are additional orders available for both pending orders and market orders.
They can also be attached to already opened positions on a given market. These types of orders are the most basic orders designated for limiting the potential losses, for example when an investor is not able to follow prices all the time.

A trader establishes stop-loss levels by either specifying the level in points from the current price or by specifying an exact price level.

For long positions, the stop-loss value must be lower than the current price. For short positions, the stop-loss value must be higher than the current price.

 

Pending orders


Pending orders will be placed immediately but executed only when the price has reached a previously determined price.
There are six types of orders available as pending orders:
Buy limit / Sell limit / Buy stop / Sell stop / Buy stop limit / Sell stop limit


Buy limit

An investor is willing to buy an asset when the price has reached a certain level. At the time of placing of an order the market price must be higher than the one specified as the buy limit price. In this situation, investors believe that prices will fall to a certain level and will later rise.

Sell limit

An investor in this case is willing to sell an asset when the price has reached a specified level. At the time of placing an order, the market price must be lower than the one specified by the investor (sell limit price). This approach reflects the belief of the trader that prices will reach a certain level (the sell limit price level) and then start falling.

Buy stop

By placing a buy stop order an investor expects that if prices reach a certain level (buy stop price), they will keep on rising. The price at which the transaction is concluded will be less favourable than the current market price. However , the fact of reaching that level could be interpreted as a confirmation signal. Once executed, this order will buy an asset after reaching a level defined by the investor. The market price at the time of placing the order must be lower than the defined buy stop level.

Sell stop

By placing a sell stop order a trader expects the prices to keep on falling, once a certain level (sell stop price) below the current market price is reached. Reaching this level can also be interpreted as a confirmation order of the investor’s prediction. Once executed, this order will sell an asset after reaching a level previously established by the trader. The market price at the time of placing the order must be higher than the defined sell stop level.

Buy stop limit

This type of order has been introduced by the MetaTrader 5 platform, and it combines both buy stop and buy limit features. This order will place a pending order (buy limit order) only if the price previously reaches a defined price by the investor. One may say that this is a conditional pending order, that will only be executed when the price reaches a certain level. To place this order the current price must be lower than the conditional price level - i.e. the price which activates the pending order.

Sell stop limit

This is, again, an order introduced to the new MetaTrader 5 available at HighSky Brokers. As with the previous transaction, this is a conditional pending order. An order will be placed if and only if a price reaches a price level previously defined by the investor. To place this conditional order, the current market price level must be higher than the conditional price. Once prices start falling and reach the conditional price level a new sell limit order will be placed.

Управление рисками

Даже базовые знания методов управления рисками может существенно повысить эффективность вашей торговли


Идеи, которые необходимо принять во внимание


Разработайте стратегию, которая Вас устраивает, и не делать никаких исключений
Рассмотрите возможность использования “stop-loss” ордера для контроля потенциальных убытков.

Также, Вы можете изучить порядок использования других ордеров в качестве дополнительного инструмента, не забывая о максимальном риске, который вы берете на себя, а также об инвестиционных целях.
Каждая инвестиция подвергается риску по причине возможных неблагоприятных изменений цен. Чтобы финансовые рынки представляли собой комплексную систему со многими факторами, оказывающими влияние на спрос и предложение, важно знать, что практический результат каждой сделки не определен. Факторы, влияющие на рыночные цены, указаны в разделе фундаментального анализа нашего сайта.

Управление рисками очень сильно зависит от типа активов, в котором заинтересован трейдер. В этом разделе мы хотели бы обсудить инструменты, которые могли бы свести к минимуму потери вследствие неблагоприятных изменений цен.

  • изучите разные типы активов
  • спланируйте стратегию
  • установите максимально допустимый риск
  • используйте различные ордера, доступные на платформе Meta Trader 5

Изучите различные типы активов


Важно понять ликвидность, вовлеченную в различные валютные пары

В зависимости от активов, в которых Вы заинтересованы, они могут быть более или менее волатильными. Чем больше волатильность, тем больше финансовый риск. Это означает, что действуя на этом рынке, предполагается получение более высокой возможной прибыли, чем на рынке с меньшей волатильностью. Существуют рынки, которые сильно не меняются, в то время как другие подвергаются частым изменениям, а изменения цен могут быть достаточно значимыми.

Другим важным аспектом является Spread - разница между ценой покупки и ценой продажи. Активы обладают различным спредом, значение спреда зависит от определенных факторов, как например ликвидность рынка, его волатильность или время суток.

Так как spread представляет собой непрямую стоимость сделки для трейдера, он может быть выражен волатильностью для сравнения стоимости торговли между данными рынками. Например, стоимость операции на рынке, на котором спред составляет 4 пункта, а разница между максимумом и минимумом дня равна 60 пунктам, считается более привлекательным, чем в случае рынка, на котором спред составляет 2 пункта, а ценовой интервал каждый день составляет всего 20 пунктов.


 

СПЛАНИРУЙТЕ СТРАТЕГИЮ УПРАВЛЕНИЯ РИСКАМИ


Важно принять решение, какой тип инвестиционной стратегии будет применен.

Стратегия определяет ключевые аспекты сделок, в том числе их период времени. сушествуют активы, с которыми трудно торговать в краткосрочной перспективе, так как цена сделки является относительно высокой в зависимости от движения цен. Однако, эти рынки могут быть приняты во внимание с целью долгосрочных инвестиций, расходов на хранение или возможного арбитража. С другой стороны, активы с большой волатильностью дают большие возможности для краткосрочных и очень краткосрочных сделок.

Установите максимально допустимый риск для инвестиций.


Важный шаг, который многие инвесторы игнорируют

Хорошей стратегией является установление максимальной денежной суммы, которой инвестор готов рискнуть в любой сделке.  Эта сумма может быть определена как процент от доступного капитала. Принимая во внимание ситуацию, в которой инвестор готов рискнуть не более чем 3% от портфеля, 3% от этой суммы означают что инвестор готов "рискнуть" не более чем на 300 $ США в одной сделке.

Лимит рассчитывается, как показано выше, или используя любой другой метод, может быть принято во внимание при рассмотрении вопроса, где установить стоп-лосс или закрыть сделки с помощью любых других средств. Для осуществления этой операции, необходимо учитывать стоимость пункта. В случае когда, для конкретного актива значение PIP равно 10 USD, а допустимый риск 300 USD, трейдеру необходимо будет воспользоваться ордером "stop loss" со значением 300/10=30 pips, для открытия сделки.

Используйте различные доступные ордера на платформе Meta Trader 5

Понимание приемуществ отложенных ордеров на торговой платформе может способствовать эффективному плану торговли.

Существуют различные ордера доступные на MT5, которые могут помочь Вам получить потенциальную прибыль или ограничить потери во время торговли.

  • Рыночные ордера - buy/sell
  • Stop Loss
  • Take profit

Рыночные ордера (или ордера мгновенного исполнения)

Являются простыми ордерами покупки или продажи, которые выполняются незамедлительно в момент нажатия.

Take-profit

Take profit - это дополнительный ордер доступный как для отложенных ордеров, так и для рыночных ордеров. Он также может быть исползован в отношении открытых позиций на рынке. Разницей между этим ордером и ордером stop-loss является то, что трейдер точно устанавливает прибыль, которую он хотел бы получить. Иногда инвесторы не уверены, как долго тренд будет продолжать свое направление, в таком случае устанавливается значение, для которого гарантирована прибыль, при условии, что цена достигнет этого уровня. Для позиций LONG (покупка), значение stop-loss должно быть выше, чем текущая цена. Для позиций SHORT (продажа), значение stop-loss должно быть ниже, чем текущая цена.

Stop-loss

Stop-loss - это дополнительные доступные ордера как для отложенных, так и рыночных ордеров. Также, они могут быть присоединены к уже открытым позициям. Эти типы ордеров предназначены для ограничения возможных потерь, например, когда инвестор не может постоянно следить за ценой.

Трейдер устанавливает уровень stop-loss посредством указания пунктов по отношению к текущей цене или посредством указания точного ценового уровня. Для позиций LONG (покупка), значение stop-loss должно быть ниже, чем текущая цена. Для позиций SHORT (продажа), значение stop-loss должно быть выше, чем текущая цена.

 

ОТЛОЖЕННЫЕ ОРДЕРА


Отложенные ордера вводятся незамедлительно, но выполняются только тогда, когда цена достигает уровня, указанного в ордере. Существует шесть видов отложенных ордеров:
Buy limit / Sell limit / Buy stop / Sell stop / Buy stop limit / Sell stop limit


Buy limit

Инвестор хочет купить актив тогда, когда цена достигнет определенного уровня. В момент введения ордера рыночная цена должна быть выше цены, указанной в buy limit price. В этой ситуации инвесторы считают, что цены упадут до определенного уровня, а затем поднимутся.

Sell limit

Инвестор в этом случае готов продать актив, когда цена достигает указанного уровня. На момент размещения приказа, рыночная цена должна быть ниже, чем указанная инвестором (sell limit price). Этот подход отражает убеждение трейдера, что цены достигнут определенного уровня (уровень предельной цены продажи), а затем начнут падать.

Buy stop

Размести ордер buy-stop инвесторы считают, если цены достигнут определенного уровня, они будут продолжать расти. Цена, на которой сделка закрывается, будет менее благоприятной, чем текущая рыночная цена. Тем не менее, факт достижения цены этого уровня, может быть интерпретирован, как сигнал подтверждения. Как только он был выполнен, покупается актив, после того, как был достигнут уровень, заданный инвестором. Рыночная цена на момент введения ордера должна быть ниже цены, заданной трейдером.

Sell stop

Посредством введения sell-stop ордера трейдер ожидает, что цены продолжат падать, пока не будет достигнут определенный уровень, заданный sell-stop, который ниже текущей рыночной цены. Достижение этого уровня может быть интерпретировано как ордер подтверждения предположений инвестора. Как только он был выполнен, ордер продает актив после того, как был достигнут уровень, ранее заданный трейдером. Рыночная цена в момент введения ордера должна быть выше цены, заданной трейдером.

Buy stop limit

Данный ордер, представленный платформой MetaTrader 5, совмещает в себе как ордер buy-stop, так и ордер buy-limit. Этот ордер вводит отложенный ордер (buy limit order) только в том случае, если цена заблаговременно достигнет цену, заданную инвестором. Можно сказать, что это условный ордер, который выполнится только тогда, когда цена достигнет определенного уровня. Для того, чтобы ввести этот ордер, актуальная цена должна быть ниже, чем уровень условной цены, то есть цена, действующая в отложенном ордере.

Sell stop limit

Это, опять же, ордер, введенный в новый MetaTrader 5, доступный на HighSky Brokers. Как и в случае предыдущей сделки, это условный ордер. Ордер будет введен только в случае, если цена достигнет уровня ранее заданного инвестором.  Для того, чтобы ввести этот условный ордер, актуальный уровень рыночной цены должен быть выше условной цены. Как только цены начинают падать и достигается уровень условной цены, вводится новый ордер sell-stop-limit.